Curry and Spice

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Garam Masala Bread

In Uncategorized on November 19, 2013 at 10:25 am

IMG_4780

You may have noticed by now that I have a bit of a love affair with quick breads. I think one of the first things I made as a kid was this lovely banana chocolate chip bread, so maybe that’s where my love comes from? I have no idea. What I do know is that I love it. I’m not sure I’ve come across a quick bread that I don’t love. When it comes to fall, I love nothing more than a little slice of pumpkin bread; if it has chocolate in it, so much the better. 

IMG_4752

When it comes to Thanksgiving, I’ve traditionally been saddled with all things pumpkin. For a while, during my pieky eater childhood, this meant that I was in charge of pumpkin pie (which I did not eat). Now, before you imagine a four-year-old yielding a pastry blender, let’s make one thing very clear: prior to a couple of years ago, we were a store-bought crust family. So really, putting together a pumpkin pie is quite doable for a four-year-old, at least so long as this is the case.  We’ve since moved away store-bought since I fell in love with pie and absolutely cannot stand the bitter taste of store-bought, frozen crust, for the record. But the pumpkin tradition has lingered, and merged into a tradition of pumpkin muffins, or pumpkin bread, for the aforementioned quick bread devotion.

IMG_4757

This, though: this is a beaut. This is an unusual creation of mine that stemmed, initially, from my mistaking my garam masala for nutmeg. They’re approximately the same color, and when you buy spices in bulk and shamefully leave them in the little baggies from wherever, you can get them confused! And when my bread turned out not to be as sweet as I was expecting, well. I thought I didn’t like it at first. As I ate more, and more of this bread, I fell utterly in love with it. It has replaced the other pumpkin quick breads as champion quick bread in my heart. I made it in bulk for our Australian Thanksgiving Shmogasborg, and I’m making it this year to send home to my family, since I won’t be there. I’m making a little loaf to take to a friend’s for Thanksgiving, and I’ve certainly eaten enough on my own.

IMG_4779

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Garam Masala Bread (Adapted from Baker’s Banter)

Makes two 1 lb loaves (and maybe some change)

1 cup vegetable oil

1 2/3 cup cane sugar

1 cup brown sugar

4 eggs

1 can or 2 cups pumpkin puree

2/3 cup water

3 1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp salt

1-2 tsp garam masala*

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups chocolate chips**

Combine oil, sugar, eggs, pumpkin, and water in a mixing bowl, or the bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix until smooth. In a separate bowl, mix (or sift, if you’re feeling ambitious) the dry ingredients together. Pour into pumpkin mixture in three segments, making sure to mix well after each addition. Add vanilla and mix. Add chocolate chips and mix well. Pour into two 1 lb loaf pans (put remainder, if there is any, in another pan, or in muffin cups) and bake at 350 F for 60-80 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

*I’ve been experimenting with adding more. The first time you make this, I recommend sticking to the smaller amount, just to make sure you like it.

**My most recent batch was made with 53-60% dark chocolate, and I think I like it the best. I’ve also tried with with a mixture of white and dark chocolate, but for whatever reason, the white chocolate chips almost seemed to evaporate, so maybe avoid those? They’re also incredibly sweet, and even though the garam masala gives this a bit of a savory kick, I feel like they’re honestly too sweet for this bread.

Leave a Reply

