Curry and Spice

Blueberry Yogurt Pancakes

In Uncategorized on October 16, 2011 at 9:36 pm

It certainly seems like it’s feast or famine with this blog. Hopefully by now, you’re used to that, and I don’t need to keep slinking around in embarrassment because it’s been over a month (I actually cringe a little inside when I think about that) since I posted something here, and even longer (let’s not even think about it) since I posted something food-related. I certainly could come up with excuses for you (an overabundance of schoolwork, my senior year in college, trying to reconnect and stay connected with friends), but the reality is that I’ve been sort of unmotivated.

I’ve been almost frighteningly unmotivated to cook or bake since returning to school. I’ve done enough of both (you can’t really survive living by yourself if you don’t cook at least once or twice a week), but nothing has been…inspiring. I’ve undoubtedly cooked some amazing meals (and even managed to photograph some of them), but the connection between eating and blogging hasn’t really kicked in yet.

This is perhaps why I’m posting about pancakes. Don’t get me wrong – I love pancakes. I love pancakes so much that, were it up to me, I would probably live off of them. There are at least twenty variations of pancakes I can think of for you, and every one of them is completely, enchantingly delicious. All of them are perfectly willing to be drowned in maple syrup, and a good number of them are willing to be coated in peanut butter first (haven’t tried this? Try it with plain pancakes first). I literally can wax poetic about pancakes. Nonetheless, they aren’t exactly what one would call a sterling first entry back into blogging. But then again, maybe that’s exactly what I need: something comfortable and marvelous to tell you about.

Blueberry Yogurt Pancakes

1 1/2 cups flour*

1 tsp salt

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

3 tbsp sugar

2 eggs

3 tbsp melted butter

3/4 – 1 cup yogurt

3 tbsp milk

1 cup blueberries

In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs. Add the butter, yogurt, and milk and combine. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients. Add the blueberries and whisk until just combined. In a large frying pan or on a griddle on the stove, pour 1/4 cup of batter. When the pancakes bubble, gently flip to the other side. Pancakes should be golden-brown (or darker) on both sides, and should not ooze in the middle. Adjust heat accordingly. Serve with powdered sugar or maple syrup.

*For a low-gluten option, use emmer flour instead. Our CSA recently provided us with Emmer flour, which is not only lower in gluten (I’m not gluten-intolerant, and neither is the person I’m sharing my CSA with, but it was fun to try a new grain!), but is very tasty. Give it a try if it’s an option in your area!

  1. Oh these look so delicious!! If you get a chance please come by and enter my eco natural giveaway.

Leave a Reply

