Curry and Spice

Travel: Amman Citadel, Coming Home, and Some Changes

In Uncategorized on July 13, 2011 at 2:10 pm

On our last day of touring, we stayed within the city of Amman (and had a short jaunt to the west to see another structure), and had a nice late start.  We began our day by driving down to the Roman citadel, which was the initial city of Amman.  The Temple of Hercules resides there, which is so named based on the large statue that was originally there.  All that is left of the statue is a massive hand, as well as a joint (either an elbow or a shoulder).  The citadel is still being excavated, so while we were able to see the Temple of Hercules, the massive cistern, and other aspects of it, it is still unclear how large the site actually was.  I have to confess additionally that, after nine days of seeing Roman sites, I was a little bit Roman-sited-out.  From the citadel, we drove west out of Amman to see another site that was related to a Nabatean occupation and tombs nearby, which had some beautiful carvings of animals (lions and leopards, primarily).  With that, we were officially done touring in Jordan!

We headed back to ACOR to finish putting away our materials from the field, and settled into a long afternoon of doing very little.  I also had nothing to do the next day until my flight left, and as a result, I was able to catch up on journaling (not here, clearly) and finished the last of my books from traveling.  I also had a little bit of time to process everything that we’d done and been through in the past forty days, and was so excited to have been able to enjoy such a unique experience.

Finally, at midnight on the morning of the eleventh, I began my journeys home.  I flew from Jordan to Frankfurt (my flight was delayed out of Amman by forty-five minutes, which meant that I made my flight in Frankfurt by a grand total of ten minutes), then Frankfurt to Chicago, and managed to miss my flight from Chicago to Denver.  Fortunately, United was able to book me on a flight from Chicago to Denver for later that day, so I was still able to arrive home on the 11th, and not at an unreasonable time.  I was also able to call my close friend who’s in Chicago for the summer, and we got to chat, which was really delightful.  I finally made it home to an amazing thunderstorm that essentially shut down DIA shortly after I landed.  About an hour after landing, I was safely with all of my family, with my luggage, on the way home through the greenest downtown Denver that I’ve ever seen (in mid-July, at least).  It was so wonderful to finally be home and to be with my family again.  I have now been settling back in for the past two days, including reclaiming my job and getting all of my paperwork filled out.  The weather here has been incredible – very wet and cool, which for July is extremely unusual.  I got to see my best friend last night for the first time in six months, and while a thunderstorm raged literally overhead, we talked about everything from the past couple of months.  It was so amazing to see her again, and so amazing to be welcomed home by such wonderful people.

Finally, as you may have noticed, I’ve been catching up around here; getting all of my posts up (I will start filling in the picture blanks shortly), and obviously, changing the layout.  I enjoyed the old layout, but feel that this one is actually a lot more fun; it greatly appeals to my fancy-Nancy side.  Look for some food updates soon – we have guests coming this weekend, and I am ready to bake up a storm.

Leave a Reply

