Curry and Spice

Travel: Home, Washington, and Jordan

In Uncategorized on May 27, 2011 at 9:57 am

It’s been quite a while since I posted – I made it safely home from Mexico, and decided as I stopped over in the Mexico City airport that, not only can I not wait to go back, but I am very excited and interested in exploring mainland Mexico (which I really did only view from airplane and airport windows).  In spite of all of the concerns people are raising about Mexico, and the safety of Mexico, I never felt unsafe, and I really would like to go back and see more.

After my arrival in Denver, I began the slow process of rebuilding my running strength and reintroducing myself to my kitchen.  Because my camera was still broken at the time, I was unable (sigh) to photograph any of the wonderful things I made.  However, because they were received with such positive reviews by those in my family, I will certainly be making them again and promptly photographing them, etc.  I have missed food blogging more than I would have expected.  It was nice to take a break, but I am nonetheless excited to return to my “roots”.  In other news, I ended up buying a new/refurbished camera.  When I sent my camera to Canon, the repair estimate was well over the current market value of the camera, and as a result, I have upgraded (though very cheaply!) to a Canon T1i.  I am very excited to start photographing with it, and look forward to exploring my new options.

Simultaneously with and against my better judgment, I had planned to go to Washington in mid-May to see my friends, my house, and to see my senior friends graduate.  I was so excited to go when I made the reservations, but also had some worries about how close that would fall to when I was leaving for Jordan.  Nonetheless, this past weekend, I packed my backpacking pack again and got on the plane to go to Walla Walla, and I am so glad I did.  It was so wonderful to see all of my friends.  Some of my closest friends and I haven’t seen each other in a full year – they were both traveling abroad while I was in school, and I was abroad when they were in school.  As a result, I hadn’t seen them in a year, and it was so amazing to see them again.  Our friendship picked up right where we left off, and it was so great to sit and chat with them again.  I also got to see my friends graduate, which was surreal – it’s astonishing to think that in a year, that will be me.  I will be a college graduate in a year (someone pinch me, I can’t be old enough for this…).  The campus was beautiful, and because of the late spring, the trees were all still in bloom.  It was a treat to see everything.

I came back from Washington and almost immediately had to start getting ready for Jordan.  I am flying overnight to Frankfurt today, and will be flying with one of my very close friends from Frankfurt to Amman.  We will then finish getting ready, and by June 1st, will be in the field, excavating a Late Neolithic necropolis.  I am both terrified and excited.  I know that this is going to be an amazing trip, and I am so grateful to have the opportunity (and I’m also excited that this is one of those stories that I will get to tell my kids that will hopefully make me a cool parent…Certainly the stories I’ve heard from my own parents about their travels make them way cooler in my eyes).  I am also nervous however – not about the political situation, but more about the new things I will be facing.  I really have no idea what to expect – Jordan is a very moderate and progressive country, but it is still an area where Islam is important, and I have no idea what to expect in terms of comportment, etc.  I’m nervous also because, as much as I had a serious travel bug a year ago, I’m now really ready to be at home/in one place for a little while.  Nonetheless, my bags are once again packed, and I am almost ready to go.

Leave a Reply

