Curry and Spice

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

In Uncategorized on November 23, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Wow, I feel like I might actually be running out of things to tell you – I suppose this is what happens when I post for the third day in a row (I sort of hope I’m making up for abandoning for three weeks – between posting three recipes last week, and three this week [and that’s just to start with – hopefully I’ll have more!], I hope I’ve won you back…).

I think I’ll probably skip my usual jabbering and just tell you about these muffins – they are a true treat in my house.  I made them over my four-day break back in October, and not only did my house at school love them, I made an extra big batch so that I could make enough bread to send to my sister – and boy, was she pleased.  I sent them during her report-cards time, just so that she’d have an extra treat (or breakfast, which is what she ate it for) to help bolster her through that torture.

I have made these muffins every year since my sophomore year of high school for Thanksgiving.  Because I don’t eat meat, don’t like cranberry sauce or gravy, and am generally exceptionally picky, these have been the one reliable thing I’m willing to make and eat on Thanksgiving.  I will be making them again this year, because who doesn’t need something sweet during all of that other food?  I firmly believe in taking a break from the real dinner to food to have a treat/breakfast-like food.  (I love muffins, and breakfast generally, so it’s really my favorite part of the meal).

We got this recipe from a family friend – because I’m trying not to exploit anybody, I definitely want to mention that.  I have adapted it heavily from the original recipe, however, so it’s still unique to me.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins (Adapted from a recipe given to us by a family friend)

1 egg

3/4 cup of milk (I used skim, as usual, but I’m sure milk with more fat would make this even more delicious)

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon*

1/4 tsp nutmeg*

1 cup chocolate chips

In the bowl of a large mixer, combine the egg, milk, pumpkin, and vegetable oil.  Mix until well-combined.  In a separate bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices.  Add incrementally to the wet ingredients, mixing thoroughly.  Add the chocolate chips last.  Pour into greased (or otherwise lined) muffin cups until they are about 2/3 of the way full.  You can also pour the mixture into a greased 1 lb loaf pan.  Bake at 400 degrees for twenty minutes (muffins) or for fifty minutes (bread), or until a tester comes out clean.

*I dialed down the spices in this mixture – they used to be much higher, so you can play them up as much as you’re comfortable with.

Leave a Reply

