Curry and Spice

Butterscotch Bars

In Uncategorized on November 15, 2010 at 6:36 pm

I went into a baking frenzy when I returned home from school this past summer – and I anticipate this will happen every time I return home.  There’s something about the unlimited quantity of ingredients, the proximity to Whole Foods, and the deep desire to provide food (sweets) that makes me bake like a crazy woman.  Particularly in response to people who are ill.  One of my close family friends (and one of the girls I grew up with) got very sick after coming home from her freshmen year.  Let me tell you – when people get sick, my family breaks out the big guns.  My mom is usually in charge of entrees, my father is in charge of salads, and the desserts are always relegated to me (oh, shucks).

However…this recipe did not go quite as I had intended.  I have discovered that Joy of Cooking and I don’t seem to get along as well as I might hope.  I’m always a big fan of things they say (informationally, it’s fantastic), but…the recipes lack directions.  For example, never having made butterscotch before, I really didn’t know how long to boil it.  This led to a bit of a problem.  While these bars turned out to be delicious, they probably weren’t as flavorful as they could have been (which I really take as just another reason to make them again, hah).  Nonetheless, they were enjoyed and appreciated.

For more information on how to make butterscotch, I’ll refer you to Deb, who seems to understand this much better than I initially did.

Butterscotch Bars (Adapted from Joy of Cooking)

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

In a medium-sized bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt.  Melt the butter over medium-high heat in a small saucepan.  Add the brown sugar and increase the heat.  Bring the mixture to a boil, then allow to cool before adding the egg and the vanilla.  Whisk briskly to combine.  Stir the dry ingredients into the butterscotch mixture.  Pour into a greased 9×9″ pan and bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

