Curry and Spice

Indian Ratatouille

In Uncategorized on October 3, 2010 at 10:48 am

Everybody please hold your breath, because: I’m posting a dinner recipe.  That’s right, not only did I cook something new this week that wasn’t dessert, I also remembered to take pictures, and here I am, ready to share it all with you.  I can’t promise much for the future in terms of main courses, particularly because next weekend is my fall break, and what do I intend to do?  Oh yes, bake my little heart out.  Why?  Because it’s October, and October means it’s pumpkin season.  That means pumpkin bread, pumpkin brownies, maybe a pumpkin pie (don’t hold your breath, I don’t like pie very much).  I am obsessed with pumpkin, and now that they’re at my farmer’s market, I am ready to move into production of all things pumpkin (but I’d better find some people to help me eat these things – one of my housemates is going home and one is vegan, so it leaves me and one other to eat all of these things…hm.  I’d better call in reinforcements).  Also, I still have some frozen zucchini that is begging to be made into something delicious (Zucchini bread, anyone?)  In short, my farmer’s market bill for next week may be a little bit exorbitant, and dinner recipes may be lacking, once again.

However, in the meantime, there is this: I’ve never made a traditional ratatouille before, although I’m now very interested to try one (there’s another less traditional version in another cookbook that I’d love to try).  This, however, was not entirely what I expected.  It turned into a delicious, almost-stew-like dinner, which was different from what I’d thought, but was absolutely delicious.  It’s a great seasonal dish – all of the ingredients are still in season (at least, they are here), and served over rice (or, I imagine, with Naan?  Yum), it’s delicious.  This also produced more than I anticipated, such that I’ve had leftovers for three days, after feeding myself and my three housemates for dinner one night.  It’s filling, flavorful, and wonderful – and very easy to make.  There’s a time investment in getting all of the vegetables ready, but once you’ve got them chopped, everything else is easy.

Indian Ratatouille (Adapted from Moosewood Restaurant: New Classics)

2 cups chopped onions

2 tbsp olive oil

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp peeled and chopped fresh ginger

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp coriandor

1/2 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 cup orange juice

1 1/2 cups cubed carrots

4 cups cubed zucchini

1 1/2 cups sliced bell peppers (my preference is yellow or orange)

2-3 fresh tomatoes, diced

In a dutch oven over medium heat, sauté the chopped onions in the oil for about ten minutes, or until translucent.  Add the garlic, ginger, salt, and spices and stir to coat the onions for about one minute.  Add the orange juice and the carrots, stirring again.  Cover pot and simmer for about ten minutes or until the carrots are barely tender.  Add the zucchini, peppers, tomatoes, cover and simmer for another 10-15 minutes, or until vegetables are tender.  If (and I think this is a big if) your vegetables are sticking or are dry, add some more orange juice or water.  Serve over rice or with naan, chapatis, or French bread.

  1. Good day!This was a really outstanding post!
    I come from milan, I was luck to discover your theme in wordpress
    Also I learn much in your Topics really thank your very much i will come daily

  2. […] because I ended up with two usable pictures.  I had to steal the third picture from my set on Indian Ratatouille, which conveniently used at least some of the same vegetables as this […]

Leave a Reply

